Zhejiang Provincial Department of Culture and Tourism

YRD home to 8 cities with GDP topping 1 trillion yuan

A total of 23 Chinese cities topped 1 trillion yuan ($155 billion) in gross domestic product in 2020, with eight of them coming from the prosperous Yangtze River Delta region, according to the latest statistics.

The YRD region -- which consists of Jiangsu, Zhejiang and Anhui provinces and Shanghai municipality -- accounts for a quarter of China's GDP.

The latest numbers showed that the economic powerhouse of Shanghai city posted GDP of 3.87 trillion yuan for last year.

The YRD is also home to the other seven cities of Suzhou (2.02 trillion yuan), Hangzhou (1.61 trillion yuan), Nanjing (1.48 trillion yuan), Ningbo (1.24 trillion yuan), Wuxi (1.24 trillion yuan), Hefei (1 trillion yuan) and Nantong (1 trillion yuan).

In addition, Hefei, capital of Anhui province and the Jiangsu city of Nantong made it as the latest members of "China's club of trillion-yuan-GDP cities".

The cities -- except Hefei, which came very close -- exceeded $20,000 in GDP per capita, the widely accepted threshold for developed economies.

Another YRD city, Changzhou in Jiangsu province, also passed that threshold.

Source: http://www.ezhejiang.gov.cn/2021-02/26/c_596928.htm